Support Forum

SANE Support Forum

Wrong time to make a big decision?

For sharing your experiences and feelings about mental illness
kpgr94

Wrong time to make a big decision?

Postby kpgr94 » Tue Oct 26, 2021 9:04 pm

Hello,

I’m a new dad… 8 weeks new. Love my daughter and fiancé more than anything and couldn’t be happier with my family. I’m currently going through a really tough period and struggling a lot with my mental health. I had 5 weeks of paternity leave with work and when returning to work it was a lot more stressful than it perhaps needed to be. I work as a Business Manager for McDonalds and sometimes the job can be very stressful but I’ve always managed to cope with it in the past.

I’m not sure whether it’s normal for me to be feeling like this but I had been having panic attacks, breakdowns and suicidal thoughts. I took 3 weeks off work sick after only being back for 2 weeks. I had resigned whilst off sick because the thought of going back to work was unbearable and I had managed to find a job which was much lower pay and no where near as secure. I had planned to take it and resigned but during a rare moment of clarity realised it was probably the wrong time to make that decision and that I might regret it or if it wasn’t the job that was making me feel like this and then I’d be stressing about money and security so I backtracked with my tail between my legs and retracted my resignation.

From reading numerous things online about Seasonal affective disorder I’m starting to think this may be why I’m feeling like this as I went through something similar around the same time last year. Perhaps the added responsibility of being a new dad, the stress of anticipating her birth, the stresses of work have all been factors mixed with it being the wrong time of year.