SANE Support Forum

Hi I'm new

If you're new and want to say hello...
jac7

Hi I'm new

Postby jac7 » Wed Sep 02, 2020 10:57 am

Hello
This is my first time here. I just need someone to talk to who will understand
what anxiety and depression feel like as I'm at an all time low and have nobody I can talk to.
Thank you

georgegibson

Re: Hi I'm new

Postby georgegibson » Wed Sep 02, 2020 1:17 pm

Warmest welcome @jac7.
Don't worry about your loneliness. We are here to talk with you.
Regards - GG

ericph

Postby ericph » Wed Sep 02, 2020 3:41 pm

I worry about everything. I have health anxiety too.

In 2011 I had tests done for cancer, about a month later the doctor phoned and said he urgently wanted to see me, it was non – Hodgkin Lymphoma. This was a name I recognised, our friend had this cancer, and died a few months later.

Being told I had cancer was out of my control, there was nothing I could do about it. Worry, fear and anxiety are choices, there are alternatives. I can still try and dictate how the cancer was going to affect my mind and my ability to cope with the news.

A few minutes after putting the phone down; I prayed for the wisdom, strength and peace to live with the cancer whether the cancer was a death sentence, or just an inconvenience. I can only say that from the moment of making this prayer, I have experienced a profound sense of peace, and the thought of cancer has never troubled me for a moment. Cancer could be a truly worrying process, you wait a month or two for tests, you wait for the results, and you wait for more tests.

I think anxiety happens when you want things to change that are out of your control to change.

Please ignore if this is not for you, i hope I haven't caused you any further stress.

lol76

Postby lol76 » Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:08 pm

Hi Jaq7