Search

Support Forum

SANE Support Forum

Looking for advice.

If you're new and want to say hello...
lozemma

Looking for advice.

Postby lozemma » Thu Jun 21, 2018 2:01 pm

Hiya, I am new to this kind of thing but desperately wanting some advice. I have been with my partner for just over a year (an affair, I know, not ideal).

He was previously married for 18 years, during that time his wife was violent towards him, controlling and abusive. She is an alcoholic and her boys have regular contact with social workers. During our relationship, we have had so many happy times and spent lots of time together. Its the only time he says he is truly happy. I left my husband about 3 months ago and moved into a new property but my partner has yet to meet my daughter, who is 10 and very emotional about myself and her Dad not living together.

My partner is a soldier and has served in Afghan twice and witnessed all sorts of horrific things. It was just last month the anniversary of his friend being killed in Afghan and since then has really struggled with life in general, really down, emotional, not sleeping. He visited his doctor yesterday who has referred him to a Mental Health professional. I just wanted some advice on how best to help him.

deb1960

Re: Looking for advice.

Postby deb1960 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:26 am

Hi

The charity MIND can offer help and advice. I'd give them a ring

Best wishes
Deb x

paulshipmansmith

Re: Looking for advice.

Postby paulshipmansmith » Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:45 pm

Being with your partner for more than a year suggests that your 'affair' is actually progressing to a relationship with some meaning. Affairs are not ideal as people can get emotionally hurt in the process. However, life's journey takes various courses and these things can happen, as it is in our nature to let our feelings for others guide us or let us 'follow our hearts' .